NEW POST ALERT, or, Yes, I am Back for Good (Whether you like it or not. Ha!)

What better way to dip my big toe (and it is big) back into the blogosphere then to showcase a new exhibit coming to Atlanta!  Wait. For. It.—–Okay, you’ve waited long enough (some 11 days since The Recovering Attorney has made an appearance on the www.).  So I will keep you in suspense no more….

It’s Showtime At The Apollo in Buckhead!!! That’s right.  The world-famous Apollo Theatre is coming to Atlanta.  For this Harlem native it does not get any better.  Harlem, New York is in the A.  My two favorite cities (well, really New York and San Francisco are my 2 favorite American cities–but Atlanta can certainly hold its own).

If you are a Dear Reader you know of my undying love for my hometown in general and my village of Harlem specifically.

The Apollo Theatre brings back so many wonderful memories for me.  My grandfather, for a stint, served as a Manager for the Apollo. So for me that meant that the Apollo became a home away from home.  I danced on stage (I was a little girl) with “Wicked” Wilson Pickett (ask Mr. Google and yes, I am fast becoming a woman of a certain age), saw (from the wings) Al Green in his debut New York performance, I was up close in personal with Bill Withers and his guitar, I got on board the Midnight Train to Georgia with Atlanta’s own Gladys Knight and the Pips, I saw the Godfather of Soul on numerous occasions (front row center) and as you must or should know, American Idol has nothing on Amateur Night at The Apollo (in the late 80’s I believe that I witnessed every rendition of Micheal Jackson’s Billie Jean).

If you let me I will go on and on and on and on and on…….So here are the details.  If you are fortunate to call Atlanta home; or if you are passing through this winter, you can create your own fond Apollo Theatre memories:

What:  “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing:  How the Apollo Theatre Shaped American Entertainment

Where:  The Atlanta History Center, 103 West Paces Ferry Road, Buckhead

When:  Now through March 4, 2012

Info:  404.814.4000 or www.Atlantahistorycent.

It’s good to be back.  Have a wonderful weekend.  I will “see” you on Monday,

The Recovering Attorney

COPYRIGHT 2011.  The Recovering Attorney Un-Blog(tm).  All Rights Reserved.  And I will sue.  Ha!

Comments are closed.

