Off-Topic Tuesday,or, What a Beautiful Sentiment from Ruby Dee and Ossie Davis

Years ago when I was a second year law student working as a summer associate, a fellow summer associate, Theresa and I were casually chatting over lunch.  We started talking about actors, movies and the like.  Theresa went on to tell me that her all time favorite actors were Ruby Dee (born in Cleveland but fortunate enough to be raised in Harlem.  Ha!) and Ossie Davis.  I mean she went on and on about their political activism, their statesmanship, their silent dignity, courage and of course their great acting chops.  I nodded, smiled and I of course agreed with her 100%.  Theresa further stated that she would give almost anything to meet the iconic couple.  I mean Theresa just had to be their biggest fan!

At the time I did indeed recognize that the Davises were ‘all of that a bag of chips AND a cold Coke’—but because I was young(er) I did not grasp the magnitude of their reach because to me Ruby Dee and Ossie Davis were the neighbors a few homes over who would on occasion make a “guest” appearance at my aunt’s home where she (still to this day) would hosts our annual Fourth of July family reunion in New Rochelle, New York.  {SIDE BAR:  “New Row” is a special place for me—our family is 5 generations strong in New Rochelle and I have so many wonderful childhood memories. }  The Davis family and my aunt and uncle are 30 plus years neighbors on a beautiful street in New Rochelle.  My aunt and Ms. Dee have developed a strong relationship over the years–so I guess when the mood AND music would hit them, Ms. Dee and her husband would “party” with us for an hour or so at our family reunion and just as quietly as they would arrive–they would depart.  Good times!

But I share all of the above because I visited my local Borders yesterday (*sigh* farewell to the brick and mortar bookstore) and as I was browsing the aisles I came across the Davis’ joint biography and I happened upon these words……“cremation after a public ceremony, and then, into an urn.  A special urn, large enough and comfortable enough to hold both of our ashes.  Whoever goes first will wait for the other.  When we are united at last, we want the family to say goodbye and seal the urn forever.  Then on the side, in letters not too bold but not too modest either we want the following inscription…..Ruby and Ossie In This Thing Together.”

Nothing more to see here folks……Beautiful…..I am done.

COPYRIGHT 2011.  The Recovering Attorney Un-Blog(tm).  All Rights Reserved.  And I will sue.  Ha!

Comments are closed.

