Maya Angelou Is Speaking To Me And The Recovering Attorney Is Starting To Listen…

“You can only become truly accomplished at something you love.  Don’t make money your goal.  Instead pursue the things you love doing and then do them so well that people can’t take their eyes off of you.”    —–Maya Angelou

I’ve just discovered the above  “stop me in my tracks” quote by Dr. Maya Angelou http://mayaangelou.com/.  And no.   I am not a “hear ye, hear ye all hail the Queen”  devotee of Ms. Angelou.  And even if I wanted to be I don’t think there is room for The Recovering Attorney for we all know that Oprah holds and has respectfully earned  the title of Ms. Angelou’s chief admirer/sister-girlfriend/mentee/surrogate daughter and all those other good things–I believe that Ms. Angelou is indeed one of Oprah’s favorite things  persons.  And for good reason.  Ha!  But I will admit that as of late, I have re-discovered this Phenomenal Woman:   author, actor, poet, former dancer, civil rights activist, playwright, film and television producer, director, professor, griot and sometimes Harlem resident.   

Ms. Maya is deep!  My favorite quote:  “Believe what someone tells you about themselves.”  Simple.  Pure.  (And oh so) True.  Timeless advice to be relied on in any given personal or professional relationship.  That’s just one priceless gem.   I invite you to discover more  gems and perhaps you will be kind ennough to share.   AND

At this stage in my re-invention, re-connection and recovery, I am seriously starting to listen to Dr.  Maya Angelou….Oprah heeded her advice early (in her career) and (would share the advice with her viewers) often. And as I stated in a previous post, smart {Oprah} woman, smart strategy.   

I’ve always “heard” Ms. Angelou, but now I am starting to listen.

COPYRIGHT 2011.  The Recovering Attorney Un-Blog.  All Rights Reserved.  And I will sue.  Ha!

Comments are closed.

