Barbie Has Her Ken and I Have Mr. The Recovering Attorney, or, Happy Birthday, Love!

This weekend the love of my life, the person who keeps me grounded, feed, sheltered, clothed (pays my Neimans  bill and our children’s tuitions.  Ha!), centered, focused AND whole is celebrating a milestone anniversary of his birth. 

I have known and loved Mr. The Recovering Attorney since we met the summer before my freshman year of high school.  We often joke with our family and friends that we have practically raised each other.  And to some extent we have.  

Mr. Recovering Attorney and I have  learned “How to Be” and “Have Come to Be”– Together.  And we have discovered the world– Together. 

When you meet the love of your life at the age of 14, among other favors, you are allowed the gift  of creating childhood dreams with the person that you actually get to live out your adult realities. 

We have been Together ever since the day we met.  No: “I think that we should see other people.”  Or:  “This is not working for me.”  No interruptions.  Not even a slight pause.  I truly believe that we were created for each other. 

I do.

We enjoy each other.  And we enjoy the life–the family that we have created.  Together.

From an ocean and a sea away, his parents have brought forth and nurtured a perfect specimen of a man — my soul mate, my husband, my partner in crime,  my baby daddy, my provider, AND my protector.  And I thank them both for a “childhood” well done.  

He is my Best Friend.  Then. Now. Forever.

COPYRIGHT 2011.  The Recovering Attorney Un-Blog(tm).  All Rights Reserved.  And I will sue.  Ha!

2 Responses to “Barbie Has Her Ken and I Have Mr. The Recovering Attorney, or, Happy Birthday, Love!”

  1. This was so beautiful!

  2. Welcome back, Meka! Thank you for the sentiment He is truly a great guy and I am soooo blessed! Enjoy your long weekend.

Comments are closed.

