Happy Mother’s Day, Feliz dia de la Madre, Liepstacoq Bua, or, La Fete des Meres And P.S. I Love You

Many years ago when I was a “younger” (because I am not old.  Ha!) bride and a brand spanking new  mommy, my mother sent me a gem of a little book compiled by H. Jackson Brown, Jr. entitled, P.S. I Love You:  When Mom wrote she always saved the best for last. 

This book  was my mom’s first and only mother’s day present to me and to be honest, this book remains one of, if not the most touching (soooo sorry Mr. Recovering Attorney–love the jewelry and get-aways and Precious Children I & II–love the flowers, books, baked goods and cards!) mother’s day gift that I have ever received in my almost twenty years of motherhood.  Though the sentimental, funny, wise and heart warming post scripts messages were written by the author’s mom to her children more than sixty years ago, that mother’s observations, words of encouragement and truth still resonate today.   And over the decades from young bride, to new attorney, to new mommy and now experienced wife, mother and Recovering Attorney, this book has provided and continues to provide me with the pabulum that I need when I am feeling “a certain way.”

I have kept and cherished this book–from Greenwich, Connecticut (where I opened my mailbox to find this memorable gift almost twenty years ago) a stop or two in between and finally to Atlanta–this book’s home has always been on my nightstand close to my hands and my heart. 

Without the permission of the author, however; within the terms of Fair Use (hopefully.  Ha!), I wish to share with you a  P.S. or two or three  or more (please Enjoy):

P.S.  Every day we are given stones.  But what do we build?  Is it a bridge or is it a wall?  I love you, Mom

P.S.  Dreams come true for those who work while they dream.  Sweet dreams.  I love you, Mom

P.S.  The most important thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.  Your father does such a good job of that.  I love you, Mom

P.S.  No failure is ever final–nor is any success.  I love you, Mom

P.S.  Growing older can be a wonderful adventure if you remember that the important word is growing.  I love you, Mom

There are over two hundred equally meaningful post scripts in P.S. I Love You.  I only wish I could share them all!  Alas, I cannot.  Can you say “clearly beyond the scope of Fair Use” . . .

Happy Mother’s Day, Mother Recovering Attorney and to all of my mommy Dear Readers!

Relax, Exhale and Let Someone Else Do It,

The Recovering Attorney

COPYRIGHT 2011.  The Recovering Attorney Blog.  All Rights Reserved.  And I will sue.  Ha!

2 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day, Feliz dia de la Madre, Liepstacoq Bua, or, La Fete des Meres And P.S. I Love You”

  1. Happy mother’s day. I hope you have a great day. Your blog is marvelous and I love reading the post. That’s a great story and you selected some wonderful quotes for not only mothers but all to live by.

  2. Thanks Dear Reader for taking the time to comment! It means so much to me. I am sure your mom is proud to call you her son!

Comments are closed.

