“Fairly Legal”, or I am a sucker for legal dramas

I guess I am not the only one soooo over the legal profession in its traditional sense.   It seems that the USA Network is one step ahead of me.  The new legal drama, Fairly Legal is set to premier on Thursday, January 20 at 10/9C.  In a nutshell, the main character, Kate Reed, a former top lawyer realizes the downfalls of her trade and becomes a mediator to settle conflicts.  The character even refers to herself as a recovering attorney!  Well not so fast Miss Kate.  Mediation or in its formal vernacular:  alternative dispute resolution is just a shy step away from the practice of law.  You have two parties who are in disagreement over an issue and in need of a system (in this case mediator as oppose to judge and or jury) to solve the disagreement.  For my money—same issues just a different venue.    Any whooo I do plan to catch the first episode or two.  I am interested to see how the writers treat the main character.  Will Kate be viewed with contempt and disdain by her brothers and sisters in the fellowship or will she be applauded for her courage to call her own shots notwithstanding the opinions of family, friends and colleagues?  If the USA Network find that they have a hit on their hands, perhaps I can be hired on as a consultant.  Afterall, I have been in recovery for 4 years.  I was at the top of my game.  I decided to change my career.  I am sexy, smart and witty.  Don’t believe me, ask Mr. Recovering Attorney.  Ha!

So Dear Readers, will you watch?

COPYRIGHT 2011, The Recovering Attorney

2 Responses to ““Fairly Legal”, or I am a sucker for legal dramas”

  1. I’ve seen a couple of episodes. I saw the very first one and then last week’s episode so I’ve missed at least 3, maybe 4. I don’t think I’ve seen enough to form an opinion yet. Your thoughts?

  2. To be honest, I watched the first two episodes and I was watching the third and I got distracted. So I am lost. But with most of the legal dramas you can generally jump right in there at any time. I started watching Harry’s Law. I love Kathy Bates and you know that I love legal dramas…but again, where’s Jack McCoy when you need him?

Comments are closed.

